fbpx
The Duc Ngo

The Art of Sushi

Learn the best techniques for the perfect sushi at home.
Now only € 89 incl. VAT

With 30 days money back guarantee

Only available in German language

The Duc Ngo

The Art of Sushi

Only available in German language

Meisterklasse is known from

The Duc Ngo

The Duc Ngo is probably Germany's best-known Asian restaurateur and renowned sushi chef for over 25 years. From 1999 until today, he has built up over 14 successful Japanese, Vietnamese and pan-Asian restaurants in Berlin and Frankfurt. In addition to numerous TV appearances, such as on Kitchen Impossible with Tim Mälzer, he was voted into the top 50 of Rolling Pin magazine's "Best Chefs Awards" this year.

24 online videos

The Art of
Sushi with The Duc Ngo
Produced in movie quality
Unlimited access

66-page Workbook

All contents of Meisterklasse for reading
As a PDF for downloading and printing out

Certificate of Participation

For your completed Meisterklasse
Signed by The Duc Ngo

29 unique recipes

29 recipes to follow,
explained step by step
from the classics to
the Signature Rolls

Know-How

Learn the best techniques,
tips and tricks
for fresh sushi at home

Flexible learning

Self-determined learning pace

Any place, any time

Via PC, tablet or mobile phone

Access to the exclusive community

Now only € 89 incl. VAT

With 30 days money back guarantee

Contents

Quit when you're at your best? Not with Duc. The Vietnamese restaurateur with the right flair has been building his culinary empire in Berlin for over 20 years. But who actually is this multi-gastronomer The Duc Ngo?

The inspiration for today's sushi comes from Southeast Asia. From the method of preserving freshwater fish, the first forms of today's popular sushi developed over time. In our country, the varieties "Maki Sushi" and "Nigiri Sushi" are the best known; they are derived from "Edo-mae Sushi", which has its origin and a long tradition in Tokyo.

Have you always been put off by the amount of equipment you need to prepare sushi? Then Duc can reassure you in this episode and convince you of the opposite: it really doesn't take much to make your own sushi at home.

Sharpening Japanese knives on a whetstone is easier than many think. Since it is a simple V-grind, re-sharpening is just a matter of the right angle and a steady hand. In this episode, Duc shows you how to get the perfect grind with the right preparation, posture and angle.

Fresh fish is essential for perfect sushi. In principle, almost any fish can be used to prepare sushi. Look forward to bluefin tuna, mackerel, scallop, sea bream and octopus, among others.

Making sushi rice is an art in itself and sushi chefs spend years perfecting it. The perfect sushi rice should be sticky enough so that the rolls don't fall apart at the end, but at the same time remain loose and fluffy. In this episode, Duc shows you how you can easily make the most delicious sushi rice without a rice cooker.

Making your own sushi is much easier than most people think. Most of the ingredients for homemade sushi can be found in any major supermarket, weekly market, fishmonger or Asian grocer. Duc shows you how easy it is to prepare Japanese food yourself and that there are no limits to your creativity.


Filleting fish and removing bones, fins and skin - sounds easy enough! So don't be afraid of a whole fish. If you know how to handle the knife, where the fillet sits and what to look out for, you can fillet tuna, salmon trout, mackerel or scallops yourself.

Now it's time to roll! Hoso-maki translates as "thin roll". For the hoso-maki, a nori sheet is cut in half and usually filled with only one to a maximum of two ingredients. This is traditionally accompanied by soy sauce. By the way, the bite-sized bites are only dipped in the soy sauce with the seaweed leaf and not with the filling.

Ura Maki - These maki are also known as inside-out or California rolls. The ingredients, such as fish and vegetables, are wrapped directly in the nori sheet and the rice is on the outside of the roll. Usually the rice is then decorated with sesame seeds or fish eggs. Just so incredibly DELICIOUS!!!

Futo-maki (translated: "thick roll") is the large version of the maki roll. Futo-maki are made from a whole nori sheet filled with rice, fish and vegetables. With futomaki, there are at least three or more fillings in the roll. On your marks, roll, go!

For nigiri sushi, the sushi rice is formed by hand into small, oval balls. The balls are usually topped with a strip of raw fish, seafood, tamago or caviar. And as always, there are no limits to your creativity!

Shaping nigiri step by step - in this episode Duc will show you another variation with cooked seafood.

On the trail of the Japanese egg - Tamagoyaki (jap. 卵焼き literally: fried egg) is a rolled omelette in Japanese cuisine. It is commonly used as a topping for sushi and is a popular dish flavoured with mirin, soy sauce and sugar. Let yourself be surprised by this delicious sushi ingredient.

Gunkan makis belong to the nigiri sushi. These are also translated as "warship roll sushi", which is due to their appearance. The hand-shaped rice rolls are wrapped in narrow nori sheets. The shuttle is often filled with fish eggs such as flyfish caviar.

Temaki is a Japanese sushi that is simply formed into a bag by hand. The word "temaki" appropriately means "rolled up by hand". Quickly topped and rolled up in no time at all. From now on, you can easily fill the delicious Temaki sushi bags with your favourite ingredients.

Sushi is diverse and there are always new variations. People are experimenting with the ingredients more and more and trying out new flavour combinations. The motto is: whatever tastes good is allowed!

In Japanese cuisine, people very often enjoy sashimi. This is raw fish or other seafood cut into thin slices. The Japanese eat several types of fish raw, and sashimi is usually an appetiser. Duc shows you his supreme discipline in this episode.

My Best Friend's Rolls are crispy warm vegetable tempura with salmon. The homemade spicy-sweet kuchi sauce and creamy mayonnaise, together with the spicy cress, make these Inside Out Rolls a creamy-sweet-spicy taste experience.

Dragon Roll and Spicy Tuna Roll - In this episode, Duc shows you how to make his Extreme Rolls at home! Alongside the California Rolls, the Dragon Roll is another popular sushi served in modern sushi restaurants.

Rice rolls in new splendour - ever more imaginative fillings and combinations are also becoming popular for California rolls - whether with tempura shrimp (short fried, crispy shrimp), beef fillet, cress or papaya.

Sushi rolls are usually artfully arranged on a platter. You should arrange the pieces as if they are trying to represent a landscape. Duc shows you how to make the sushi plate arrangement a breeze.

Homemade dashi stock - the basis of every miso soup! Traditionally, the broth, which stands for the typical "umami" taste like hardly anything else, is flavoured with bonito flakes and seaweed.

With the right sushi ingredients and the right tools, you can now easily enjoy homemade sushi at home. Enjoy and have fun.

You want to know more about the episodes and the Meisterklasse of The Duc Ngo?

Get our free info PDF on the course now, including a free recipe from The Duc Ngo.

Example episode (excerpt)

Rice and vinegar

About the Art of Sushi - The Online Sushi Course with The Duc Ngo

Hardly any other Asian restaurateur is as well-known in Germany as The Duc Ngo. With his successful restaurants in Berlin and Frankfurt, he is ranked among the top 50 in the "Best Chefs Awards". In the sushi course, you can learn more about the master and let him introduce you to the art of sushi preparation.

 

Making sushi has to be learned. The online sushi course first teaches you the basics. It covers the sharpening of Japanese knives, offers a solid product knowledge and shows you how to cut up fish correctly. In addition, the master chef reveals the perfect sushi rice recipe, because only those who can cook sushi rice can also prepare sushi.

 

While learning about sushi, you will become familiar with terms such as maki, nigiri or sashimi. With great attention to detail, The Duc Ngo presents you with refined creations that will inspire you to imitate them. Look forward to tamagoyaki with fried egg, gunkan maki with fish eggs or hand-rolled temaki cones!

 

As we all know, food is also a feast for the eyes. The master therefore dedicates a separate video to the artful arrangement of sushi plates. With the right ingredients and the right tools, you can make sushi yourself after this course and also know how to prepare the perfect sushi rice.

What our customers say

Help / FAQ

→ No special equipment is needed for the course. However, bamboo mats for rolling the sushi, sharp kitchen knives and chopsticks are recommended.

→ The ingredients used in the course can be found in Asia markets or in well-stocked supermarkets with an Asia section. Fresh fish and seafood can also be bought at fresh fish counters in supermarkets or directly from specialist retailers.

→ The majority of the dishes contain raw fish. Nevertheless, vegetarian alternatives can be used in all sushi, which are also mentioned in the course.

Further questions?

Find out more about the courses and procedures at Meisterklasse.

Our partner

The Art of Sushi

The Duc Ngo

The course costs once & is available for an unlimited time for the gift recipient.

89,00 

Course as a gift

Thank you for your interest!

Shortly you will receive the free info PDF for the course including a free recipe from The Duc Ngo by email.

Alternatively, you can download it directly here:

Info-PDF for the course
"The Art of Sushi

Rolling sushi the right way
by The Duc Ngo

Please confirm your email address!

Thank you for registering.

Check your inbox (and spam folder) to see if you have received an email from us and confirm your email address.

SECURE YOUR

FREE 3 COURSES MENU

WITH WINE ACCOMPANIMENT

Sign up now for our free newsletter and you will receive the recipes from our courses for a delicious 3-course meal.

Verschenke den MEISTERKLASSE MASTERGUTSCHEIN. Ein Gutschein für alle Kurse. Jetzt kaufen.

Vorschau Thumbnail Die Kunst des Sushi

The Duc Ngo

Die Kunst des Sushi

24Videos
3 Stunden Gesamtlaufzeit
66 Seiten Workbook
29 Rezepte
The Duc Ngo ist wahrscheinlich Deutschlands bekanntester asiatischer Gastronom und namhafter Sushi-Koch seit über 25 Jahren. Von 1999 bis heute hat er in Berlin und Frankfurt über 12 erfolgreiche, japanische, vietnamesische und pan-asiatische Restaurants aufgebaut. Neben zahlreichen TV-Auftritten, wie z.B. bei Kitchen Impossible mit Tim Mälzer wurde er dieses Jahr in die Top 50 der “Best Chefs Awards” des Rolling Pin Magazin gewählt. In seiner Meisterklasse wird er dich in die faszinierende Welt des Sushi entführen, von der Warenkunde, der richtigen Zubereitung, dem perfekten Anrichten bis hin zu zahlreichen seiner einzigartigen Sushi-Rezepte. Das Ganze garniert mit vielen Tipps, Tricks und Geheimnissen rund um die kleinen, fernöstlichen Delikatessen. Dreh dein eigenes Ding und tische in Zukunft das köstlichste und frischeste Sushi auf!

The Duc Ngo ist wahrscheinlich Deutschlands bekanntester asiatischer Gastronom und namhafter Sushi-Koch seit über 25 Jahren. Von 1999 bis heute hat er in Berlin und Frankfurt über 12 erfolgreiche, japanische, vietnamesische und pan-asiatische Restaurants aufgebaut. Neben zahlreichen TV-Auftritten, wie z.B. bei Kitchen Impossible mit Tim Mälzer wurde er dieses Jahr in die Top 50 der “Best Chefs Awards” des Rolling Pin Magazin gewählt.


In seiner Meisterklasse wird er dich in die faszinierende Welt des Sushi entführen, von der Warenkunde, der richtigen Zubereitung, dem perfekten Anrichten bis hin zu zahlreichen seiner einzigartigen Sushi-Rezepte. Das Ganze garniert mit vielen Tipps, Tricks und Geheimnissen rund um die kleinen, fernöstlichen Delikatessen. Dreh dein eigenes Ding und tische in Zukunft das köstlichste und frischeste Sushi auf!

Videos

Vorschau Thumbnail Intro - The Duc Ngo

Video Inhalt

05:47 min Spielzeit
Aufhören wenns am schönsten ist? Nicht bei Duc. Der vietnamesische Gastronom mit dem richtigen Gespür baut sich seit über 20 Jahren sein kulinarisches Imperium in Berlin auf. Aber wer ist dieser Multigastronom The Duc Ngo eigentlich?

Video Inhalt

04:57 min Spielzeit
Die Inspiration für das heutige Sushi stammt aus Südostasien. Aus der Methode, Süßwasserfisch zu konservieren, entwickelten sich im Laufe der Zeit die ersten Formen des heute so beliebten Sushis. Bei uns sind die Sorten „Maki Sushi“ und „Nigiri Sushi“ am bekanntesten, sie stammen vom „Edo-mae-Sushi“ ab, welches seinen Ursprung und eine lange Tradition in Tokio hat.

Video Inhalt

02:42 min Spielzeit
Dich hat immer die Vielzahl des benötigten Equipments von der Sushi-Zubereitung abgehalten? Dann kann dich Duc in dieser Episode beruhigen und vom Gegenteil überzeugen: Viel braucht es wirklich nicht, um zu Hause Sushi selbst zu machen.

Video Inhalt

11:45 min Spielzeit
Das Schleifen japanischer Messer auf einem Schleifstein ist einfacher als viele denken. Da es sich um einen einfachen V-Schliff handelt, ist ein Nachschleifen nur eine Frage des richtigen Winkels und einer ruhigen Hand. Duc zeigt dir in dieser Episode, wie du mit der richtigen Vorbereitung, Haltung und dem passenden Winkel den perfekten Schliff hinbekommst.

Video Inhalt

03:07 min Spielzeit
Essenziell für ein perfektes Sushi ist frischer Fisch. Prinzipiell kann fast jeder Fisch zur Zubereitung von Sushi verwendet werden. Freue dich u.a. auf Blauflossen Thunfisch, Makrele, Jakobsmuschel, Seebrasse und Oktopus.

Video Inhalt

10:02 min Spielzeit
Sushi Reis zubereiten ist eine Kunst für sich und Sushi Köche verbringen Jahre damit diese zu perfektionieren. Der perfekte Sushi Reis sollte klebrig genug sein, sodass die Rollen am Ende nicht auseinander fallen, gleichzeitig aber auch locker und fluffig bleiben. Duc präsentiert dir in dieser Episode, wie du ohne Reiskocher, ganz einfach den leckersten Sushi Reis zubereiten kannst.

Video Inhalt

05:34 min Spielzeit
Sushi selbst zu machen ist viel leichter als die meisten denken. Einen Großteil der Zutaten fürs selbstgemachte Sushi bekommt man in jedem größeren Supermarkt, auf dem Wochenmarkt, beim Fischhändler oder im asiatischen Lebensmittelhandel. Duc zeigt dir, wie leicht du das japanische Essen selbst zubereiten kannst und dass deiner Kreativität hierbei keine Grenzen gesetzt sind.

Video Inhalt

25:28 min Spielzeit
Fisch filetieren und von Gräten, Flossen und Haut befreien - klingt doch ganz einfach! Also keine Scheu vor ganzen Fischen. Wenn du weißt, wie du das Messer ansetzt, wo das Filet sitzt und worauf du achten solltest, kannst du Thunfisch, Lachsforelle, Makrele oder Jakobsmuschel prima selbst filetieren.

Video Inhalt

10:49 min Spielzeit
Jetzt wird gerollt! Hoso-Maki heißt übersetzt “dünne Rolle“. Bei dem Hoso-Maki wird ein Noriblatt halbiert und meist mit nur einer bis maximal zwei Zutaten gefüllt. Dazu wird traditionell Sojasauce gereicht. Die mundgerechten Happen dippt man übrigens nur mit dem Algenblatt und nicht mit der Füllung in die Sojasauce.

Video Inhalt

14:22 min Spielzeit
Ura Maki - Diese Maki sind auch unter dem Namen Inside-Out oder California-Rolls bekannt. Dabei werden die Zutaten, wie Fisch und Gemüse, direkt vom Noriblatt umhüllt und der Reis befindet sich außen an der Rolle. Meist wird der Reis dann mit Sesam oder Fischeiern dekoriert. Einfach so unglaublich LECKER!!!

Video Inhalt

05:00 min Spielzeit
Futo-Maki (übersetzt: “dicke Rolle“) ist die große Variante der Maki Rolle. Futo-Maki werden aus einem ganzen Noriblatt hergestellt, das mit Reis, Fisch und Gemüse gefüllt wird. Bei Futomaki befinden sich mindestens 3 oder mehr Füllungen in der Rolle. Auf die Plätze, rollen, los!

Video Inhalt

15:43 min Spielzeit
Für Nigiri Sushi wird der Sushi Reis von Hand zu kleinen, ovalen Bällchen geformt. Auf das Bällchen kommt meist ein Streifen roher Fisch, Meeresfrüchte, Tamago oder Kaviar. Und wie immer gilt: Deiner Kreativität sind keine Grenzen gesetzt!

Video Inhalt

16:32 min Spielzeit
Nigiri formen step by step - in dieser Episode wird Duc dir eine weitere Variante mit gekochten Meeresfrüchten zeigen.

Video Inhalt

06:01 min Spielzeit
Dem japanischen Ei auf der Spur - Tamagoyaki (jap. 卵焼き wörtlich: gebratenes Ei) ist in der japanischen Küche ein gerolltes Omelett. Es wird gern als Belag für Sushi verwendet und ist ein beliebtes Gericht, welches mit Mirin, Sojasauce und Zucker gewürzt wird. Lass dich von dieser leckeren Sushi Zutat überraschen.

Video Inhalt

04:39 min Spielzeit
Gunkan Makis gehören zu den Nigiri Sushis. Diese heißen übersetzt auch “Kriegsschiff-Rollen-Sushi", was auf die Optik zurückzuführen ist. Die handgeformten Reisrollen werden in schmalen Noriblättern eingewickelt. Das Schiffchen wird oft mit Fischeiern wie Fliegenfischkaviar gefüllt.

Video Inhalt

06:24 min Spielzeit
Temaki ist ein japanisches Sushi, das einfach per Hand zur Tüte geformt wird. Das Wort "Temaki” bedeutet passenderweise: "von der Hand eingerollt“. Schnell belegt und im Handumdrehen aufgerollt. Die leckeren Temaki Sushi Tüten füllst du ab sofort ganz easy mit deinen Lieblingszutaten.

Video Inhalt

05:48 min Spielzeit
Sushi ist vielfältig und es gibt immer wieder neue Abwandlungen. Mit den Zutaten wird immer öfter experimentiert und es werden neue Geschmackskombinationen ausprobiert. Es gilt das Motto: Erlaubt ist, was schmeckt!

Video Inhalt

07:54 min Spielzeit
In der japanischen Küche genießt man sehr oft Sashimi. Dies ist in dünne Scheiben geschnittener roher Fisch oder andere Meeresfrüchte. Die Japaner essen mehrere Fischarten roh, Sashimi ist dabei meistens eine Vorspeise. Duc zeigt dir in dieser Episode seine Königsdisziplin.

Video Inhalt

05:23 min Spielzeit
Die My Best Friend’s Rolls sind knusprig warme Gemüse Tempura mit Lachs. Die hausgemachte würzig-süße Kuchi-Sauce und die sahnige Mayonnaise sorgen zusammen mit der scharfen Kresse bei diesen Inside Out Rolls für ein cremig-süß-scharfes Geschmackserlebnis.

Video Inhalt

07:03 min Spielzeit
Dragon Roll und Spicy Tuna Roll - In dieser Episode zeigt dir Duc, wie du seine Extreme Rolls zu Hause nachmachen kannst! Neben den California Rolls ist die Dragon Roll ein weiteres beliebtes Sushi, das in modernen Sushi-Restaurants serviert wird.

Video Inhalt

07:29 min Spielzeit
Reisröllchen im neuen Glanz - auch bei den California Rolls werden immer phantasievollere Füllungen und Kombinationen populär – ob mit Tempura-Garnele (kurz frittierte, knusprige Garnele), Rinderfilet, Kresse oder Papaya.

Video Inhalt

09:02 min Spielzeit
Sushi-Rollen werden in der Regel kunstvoll auf einer Platte arrangiert. Man sollte die Stücke so anordnen, als ob sie eine Landschaft darstellen wollen. Duc zeigt dir, wie das Sushi Teller Arrangement zum Kinderspiel wird.

Video Inhalt

07:40 min Spielzeit
Selbstgemachter Dashi-Fond – die Grundlage jeder Miso-Suppe! Traditionell wird die Brühe, die wie kaum etwas anderes für den typischen “Umami”-Geschmack steht, mit Bonito-Flocken und Seetang aromatisiert.

Video Inhalt

01:42 min Spielzeit
Mit den passenden Sushi Zutaten und dem richtigen Werkzeug kannst du ab jetzt selbstgemachtes Sushi auch ganz einfach zu Hause genießen. Viel Spaß dabei.

Ähnliche Kurse

Hast du allgemeine Fragen zur Meisterklasse?

Dann schau doch einfach in unseren FAQs vorbei. Hier findest du die Antworten auf die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen.